NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Minutes

February 8, 2022

The meeting of the Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee of the Board of Trustees was held via Zoom. The meeting was called to order by Trustee Jackson at 5:48 p.m.

Committee Members Present: Wanda Jackson, Chair

John Durso George Siberón

Jorge Gardyn (ex-officio)

Committee Members Absent: Ed Powers

Also in Attendance: OIC Haugen, VPs Conzatti, Izquierdo, Kerrigan and Lausch, AVP Wright

1. Approval of Minutes

Trustee Jackson requested a motion to approve the minutes of January 11, 2022. Trustee Durso moved the motion; seconded by Trustee Siberón. Motion carried 3-0.

2. Trustee Jackson introduced the following resolution:

RESOLVED, upon the recommendation of the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee, the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees hereby approves that in recognition of distinguished and meritorious service to Nassau Community College, and upon the recommendation of the Officer-in-Charge of Nassau Community College, the following named retired faculty members of Nassau Community College, who retired after attaining the academic rank of professor or associate professor, are hereby granted the permanent academic title of professor emeritus with all the privileges and rights accruing thereto.

<u>Name</u>	<u>Title</u>	Department	Retirement Date
Maria Mann	Professor	Foreign Languages	1/22/2022
Ronald Skurnick	Professor	Math	1/15/2022

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, a motion was requested to forward the resolution to the full Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Durso made the motion; seconded by Trustee Siberón. Motion carried 3-0.

3. Trustee Jackson introduced the following resolution:

RESOLVED, upon the recommendation of the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee, the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees, hereby approves that the following named faculty members are hereby granted sabbatical leave as indicated during the 2022/2023 academic year to pursue appropriate educational or professional activities to enhance their professional competence and/or service to the college.

One Half-Year Sabbaticals – Fall 2022

<u>Name</u>	<u>Dept.</u>	<u>Rank</u>	Appt. <u>Date</u>	Previous <u>Sabbatical</u>
Richard Newman	English	Full Professor	9/1989	FA97, FA05, FA13

One Half-Year Sabbaticals – Spring 2023

<u>Name</u>	Dept.	Rank	<u>Appt.</u> <u>Date</u>	Previous Sabbatical
Richard Cohen	Physical Sciences	Associate Professor	9/2008	None
Robert Genter	History	Associate Professor	9/2008	Spring 2015
Nina Shah-Giannaris	Engineering/Physics/	Associate Professor	9/2007	None
	Technology			
Jason Gorman	Art	Professor	9/1997	Spring 2016
Christina Rau	English	Full Professor	9/2007	Spring 2016
Nicole Simon	Engineering/Physics/	Full Professor	9/2007	None
	Technology			
Elizabeth Anne Wood	Sociology,	Full Professor	9/2000	AY 2014-2015
	Anthropology, &			
	Social Work			

Full-Year Sabbaticals – 2022/2023

<u>Name</u>	Dept.	<u>Rank</u>	Appt. <u>Date</u>	Previous <u>Sabbatical</u>
Pramila Venkateswaran	English	Full Professor	8/1990	Spring 2016

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, a motion was requested to forward the resolution to the full Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Siberón made the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 3-0.

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any other items for the Committee to consider. There being none, the meeting adjourned at 5:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne E. Brandi
Sacratary to the President of

Secretary to the President and the Board of Trustees