NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Minutes

September 8, 2020

The meeting of the Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee of the Board of Trustees was held via Zoom. The meeting was called to order by Chair Jackson at 5:47 p.m.

Committee Members Present: Wanda Jackson, Chair

George Siberón Ed Powers

Jorge Gardyn (ex-officio)

Committee Members Absent: John Durso

Also in Attendance: John DeGrace, Linda Green,

Kathy Weiss

President Williams, VP Lausch

- 1. Chair Jackson requested a motion to approve the minutes of April 14, 2020. Trustee Siberón moved the motion; seconded by Trustee Gardyn. Motion carried 4-0.
- 2. Chair Jackson introduced the following resolution:

RESOLVED, upon the recommendation of the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee, the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees hereby approves that in recognition of distinguished and meritorious service to Nassau Community College, and upon the recommendation of the president of Nassau Community College, the following named retired faculty members of Nassau Community College, who retired after attaining the academic rank of professor or associate professor, are hereby granted the permanent academic title of professor emeritus with all the privileges and rights accruing thereto.

<u>Name</u>	<u>Title</u>	<u>Department</u>	Retirement <u>Date</u>
Victor Abravaya Joan Alexander	Professor Professor	Theatre/Dance Legal Studies	9/1/20 9/1/20
Gregory Arend	Professor	Marketing/Retail/Fashion	9/1/20
Stephen Beck	Professor	Biology	9/1/20
George Bruns	Professor	Math/ITE/CSC	9/1/20
Maryann Capone	Associate Professor	Accounting/Business	9/1/20
Gail Cavallo	Professor	Music	9/1/20
Dennis Christy	Professor	Math/ITE/CSC	9/1/20
Dominic Ciardullo	Professor	Engineering	9/1/20
Andrew De Joseph	Associate Professor	Accounting/Business	9/1/20
Constance Egelman	Professor	SPS	9/1/20
Cathy Fagan	Professor	English	9/1/20

- continued

Rhona Feigenbaum	Associate Professor	HPER	9/1/20
Frank Frisenda	Professor	Engineering	9/1/20
Joseph Gray	Professor	Accounting/Business	9/1/20
Sharon Grossman	Professor	Grants/SPS	9/1/20
Mark Halfon	Professor	Philosophy	9/1/20
Terrance Hoffman	Associate Professor	Criminal Justice	9/1/20
Caroline Kaufmann	Associate Professor	Allied Health Sciences	9/1/20
Barbara Kennedy	Associate Professor	Nursing	9/1/20
Phyllis Kurland	Professor	SPS	9/1/20
Dorotea Litvak	Professor	English	9/1/20
Lois Lucca	Professor	Allied Health Sciences	9/1/20
Jack Mandel	Professor	Marketing/Retail/Fashion	9/1/20
Maryellen McNamara	Professor	Marketing/Retail/Fashion	9/1/20
David Nugent	Associate Professor	Accounting/Business	9/1/20
Mary Peck	Professor	SPS	9/1/20
Wayne Ramsey	Professor	Physical Science	9/1/20
Maureen Reeves	Associate Professor	Nursing	9/1/20
Stephen Rose	Professor	Marketing/Retail/Fashion	9/1/20
Stephen Samuels	Associate Professor	Communications	9/1/20
Chris Schwertman	Professor	English	9/1/20
Jane Segadelli	Professor	SPS	9/1/20
Norman Spencer	Associate Professor	English	9/1/20
Mario Susko	Professor	English	9/1/20
Marguerite Teubner	Associate Professor	Accounting/Business	9/1/20
Huda Touma	Associate Professor	Biology	9/1/20
Joseph Varacalli, Ph.D.	Professor	Sociology	1/21/20
William Zatulskis	Professor	SPS	9/1/20

Chair Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, Chair Jackson requested a motion to forward this resolution to the Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Gardyn made the motion; seconded by Trustee Jackson. Motion carried 3-0.

Chair Jackson asked if there were any other items for the Committee to consider. There being none, the meeting adjourned at 5:49 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne Brandi

Secretary to the Board of Trustees