## NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

## Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Minutes

March 9, 2021

The meeting of the Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee of the Board of Trustees was held via Zoom. The meeting was called to order by Trustee Jackson 5:55 p.m.

Committee Members Present: Wanda Jackson, Chair

John Durso George Siberón Ed Powers

Also in Attendance: John DeGrace, Linda Green, Sophia Costanzo

President Williams, Dean Kornbluth, Academic Affairs

## 1. Approval of Minutes

Trustee Jackson requested a motion to approve the minutes of February 9, 2021. Trustee Siberón moved the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 4-0.

2. Trustee Jackson introduced the following resolution:

**RESOLVED**, upon the recommendation of the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee, the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees hereby approves that in recognition of distinguished and meritorious service to Nassau Community College, and upon the recommendation of the president of Nassau Community College, the following named retired faculty members of Nassau Community College, who retired after attaining the academic rank of professor or associate professor, are hereby granted the permanent academic title of professor emeritus with all the privileges and rights accruing thereto.

Michael Boyle Professor Theatre & Dance Retired 2/25/21

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, a motion was requested to forward the resolution to the full Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Powers made the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 4-0.

3. Trustee Jackson introduced the following resolution:

**RESOLVED**, upon the recommendation of the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee, the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees, hereby approves that pursuant to the terms of the collective bargaining agreement with the Nassau Community College Federation of Teachers, and upon the recommendation of the college-wide promotion and tenure committee and the college administration, the faculty members named herein are hereby granted promotion and/or tenure at Nassau Community College effective September 1, 2021.

## **Tenure & Promotion to Assistant Professor**

Name
Rakhi Agarwal
Valerie Fasanello
Joanne Gabrus

Department
Chemistry
Critical Reading & Academic Advancement
Nursing

Deirdre Gibson

James Mantegna

Adrienne Nocella

Ryan Patane

Michael Zito

Hospitality Business

Library

Physical Sciences

Music

Physical Sciences

**Promotion to Administrative Assistant III** 

Name Department
Andrea Warmbrand Financial Aid

**Tenure and Promotion to Administrative Assistant II** 

Name Department
Kalvin Chin Academic Advisement

**Tenure and Promotion to Technical Assistant II** 

Name Department Christine Lawrence Art

**Promotion to Technologist III** 

Name Department
Savelios Aslanidis Nursing

Deneen Cook Information Technology Services

**Tenure and Promotion to Technologist II** 

<u>Name</u> <u>Department</u>

Sherly Chacko Information Technology Services Nikoleta Naparstek Allied Health Science

Tenure – P3

Name Department
Shawn Novatt Media

Tenure – P1

Name Department

John Melo Informational Technology Services

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, a motion was requested to forward the resolution to the full Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Powers made the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 4-0.

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any other items for the Committee to consider. There being none, the meeting adjourned at 5:58 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne E. Brandi

Anne E. Brandi Secretary to the President and the Board of Trustees