NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Agenda

March 9, 2021

Committee Members

Wanda Jackson, Chair John Durso Edward Powers George Siberón Jorge Gardyn, Ex-officio Mark Lausch, VP Academic Affairs

1. Approval of the Minutes of February 9, 2021

For: _____Against: _____Abstain: _____

2. Professor Emeritus

Nassau Community College has established a tradition of granting the permanent academic title of "Professor Emeritus" as recognition of distinguished and meritorious service to the College. It is awarded to retired members of the College who have been recommended by the President. The rank of Professor Emeritus entitles that person to attend and speak at departmental and faculty meetings at the College, to be listed in the College catalog, to be retained on the College mailing list, to have use of the College's Library facilities and to be invited to all College ceremonies.

RESOLVED, that the Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee hereby recommends the approval by the full Board of Trustees that in recognition of distinguished and meritorious service to Nassau Community College, and upon the recommendation of the president of Nassau Community College, the following named retired faculty members of Nassau Community College who retired after attaining the academic rank of professor or associate professor, be granted the permanent academic title of professor emeritus with all the privileges and rights accruing thereto.

Michael Boyle	Professor	Theatre & Dance		2/25/21	
		For:	Against:	Abstain:	

3. **Promotion and Tenure**

The Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NCCFT, covering full-time College faculty, provides for the granting of tenure after a probationary period and sets forth the criteria and procedures for faculty promotions upon the favorable recommendation of the College-Wide Promotion and Tenure Committee. The College-Wide Promotion and Tenure Committee has reviewed all the applicants for promotion and/or tenure and has sent its recommendations to the President. The President is now recommending that the Board of Trustees grant promotion and tenure to the faculty members named in the following resolution:

RESOLVED, that pursuant to the terms of the faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement, and upon the recommendation of the College-Wide Promotion and Tenure Committee and the College administration, the Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee herewith affirmatively recommends and refers to the full Board of Trustees for approval that the faculty members named herein be promoted to the title and position as indicated herein, effective September 1, 2021.

Tenure & Promotion to Assistant Professor

Name

Rakhi Agarwal Valerie Fasanello Joanne Gabrus Deirdre Gibson James Mantegna Adrienne Nocella Ryan Patane Michael Zito Department Chemistry Critical Reading & Academic Advancement Nursing Hospitality Business Library Physical Sciences Music Physical Sciences

Promotion to Administrative Assistant III

<u>Name</u>

Andrea Warmbrand

Department

Financial Aid

Tenure and Promotion to Administrative Assistant II

<u>Name</u> Kalvin Chin Department

Academic Advisement

Tenure and Promotion to Technical Assistant II

Department

Christine Lawrence

Name

Art

Promotion to Technologist III

<u>Name</u>

Department

Savelios Aslanidis Deneen Cook Nursing Information Technology Services

Tenure and Promotion to Technologist II

<u>Name</u>

<u>Department</u>

Sheryl Chacko Nikoleta Naparstek Information Technology Services Allied Health Science

<u>Tenure – P3</u>

<u>Name</u>

Shawn Novatt

<u>Department</u>

Media

<u>Tenure – P1</u>

<u>Name</u>

John Melo

Department Informational Technology Services

For: _____ Against: _____ Abstain: _____