# NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

#### Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Minutes

February 9, 2021

The meeting of the Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee of the Board of Trustees was held via Zoom. The meeting was called to order by Chair Jackson at 5:52 p.m.

Committee Members Present: Wanda Jackson, Chair

John Durso George Siberón Ed Powers

Kathy Weiss (ex-officio)

Also in Attendance: John DeGrace, Linda Green, Sophia Costanzo

President Williams, VP Lausch, Academic Affairs

1. Chair Jackson requested a motion to approve the minutes of January 12, 2021. Trustee Siberón moved the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 4-0.

2. **RESOLVED**, that the Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee herewith affirmatively recommends and refers to the full Board of Trustees for approval the following named faculty members be granted sabbatical leave as indicated during the 2021/2022 academic year to pursue appropriate educational or professional activities to enhance their professional competence and/or service to the College.

### One Half-Year Sabbaticals – Fall 2021

Name	<u>Dept.</u>	<u>Rank</u>	Appt. <u>Date</u>	Previous <u>Sabbatical</u>
Savelios Aslanidis	Nursing	Technologist II	9/2012	None
Zhanshu Liu	English	Full Professor	9/1996	Spring 2014
Marcia McNair	English	Associate Professor	9/1995	Fall 2009

### One Half-Year Sabbaticals – Spring 2022

Name	Dept.	Rank	Appt. Date	Previous Sabbatical
Florence Boodakinan	English	Full Professor	9/2001	Fall 2008 & Spring 2015
Sabrina Davis	English	<b>Assistant Professor</b>	9/2009	None
Dina Ledwith	Critical Reading & Academic Advisement	Assistant Professor	9/2015	None
William Moeck	English	Full Professor	9/2001	Spring 2008 & Full Year 2014-2015
Brian Murphy	English	<b>Assistant Professor</b>	9/2011	None

## Full-Year Sabbaticals – 2021/2022

<u>Name</u>	<u>Dept.</u>	<u>Rank</u>	Appt. <u>Date</u>	Previous Sabbatical
M. Delores de Manuel-Kraus	English	Full Professor	9/1996	Full year 2013-2014

Chair Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, Chair Jackson requested a motion to forward this resolution to the Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Durso made the motion; seconded by Trustee Powers. Motion carried 4-0.

Chair Jackson asked if there were any other items for the Committee to consider. There being none, the meeting adjourned at 5:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne E. Brandi

Anne E. Brandi Secretary to the Board of Trustees